Naejangsan Mountain Introduction

Naejangsan Mountain

Naejangsan Mountain was once called Yeongeunsan Mountain, a name that originated from Yeongeunsan Temple. The name was changed to Naejangsan Mountain because 「the mountain hides infinite things within it」, and soon people started calling the region Naejang-dong as well. Naejangsan Mountain is located to the south of Jeongeup-si and the oddly-shaped rocks, those which form the boundary between Jeongeup and Sunchang-gun, create a horseshoe-shaped ridge on the mountain. Naejangsan Mountain is sometimes called the【Geumgangsan Mountain of Honam】, and has been known as one of the Top 8 Scenic Spots since the Joseon Dynasty. In Dong Gug Yoe Ji Sueng Ram, Naejangsan Mountain was named as one of the Five Most Beautiful Mountains in Honam, along with Jirisan Mountain in Namwon, Wolchulsan Mountain in Youngam, Cheongwansan Mountain in Jangheung and Neunggasan Mountain (Byunsan Mountain) in Buan. The traditional concept of mountain chains in Korea is based on the watersheds that divide up the water system. From this perspective, Noryeong Mountains is relevant to Honam Jeongmack. Naejangsan Mountain, which is within the Honam Jeongmack, is located in a very important site because it is a watershed that divides the water of three rivers- Dongjingang River, Hwangnyonggang River and Seomjingang River- along with Ibamsan Mountain (626m in altitude) in the west and Baegamsan Mountain (also known as Baekhaksan Mountain, 700m in altitude). The northern slopes of Naejangsan Mountain and Ibamsan Mountain set the upper stream of Dongjingang River while the southern slopes of Ibamsan Mountain and Baegamsan Mountain run into Hwangnyonggang River, the upper stream of Yeongsangang River, and the eastern slopes of Naejangsan Mountain and Baegamsan Mountain (Bokheung-myeon, Sunchang-gun region) set the upper stream of Seomjingang River. The ridge connecting Bangjangsan Mountain (710m in altitude), located to the west of Galjae, and Baegamsan Mountain, located to the east, also serves as the boundary between Jeollabuk-do and Jeollanam-do. Naejangsan Mountain was designated as a national park along with the Baegyangsa Temple region in November 17, 1971. The total area of Naejangsan National Park is as wide as 80.71㎢, and, of that area, 46.89㎢belongs to Jeeonbuk while 33.818㎢belongs to Jeonnam. The park includes Jeongeup-si and Sunchang-gug in Jeonbuk, and Jangseong-gun in Jeonnam.